$$ The Successful Affiliates Guide $$

The All-inclusive Guide to Affiliate Marketing

What's a conversion?

A rough rule of thumb for most affiliate links is that you need 30-40 clicks on your link to the merchant to make a single sale. If the average number of clicks per sale is 40 then the conversion rate is 1:40. This relatively low ratio is why affiliates need to work hard to attract traffic to their site.

A conversion, then, is where a click on an affiliate link to a merchant results in a sale. That sale earns the affiliate a commission. Particularly where the affiliate is using pay per click advertising, he must be acutely aware of the average conversion rate for his links. For example, if he earns $40 for each sale (his commission) and, on average, the conversion rate is 1:40, then, on average, every click on the affiliate link must cost the affiliate less than $1 to avoid a loss.

Of course, not every visitor to the affiliate's site will click on the affiliate link, so he must also take account of the ratio of site visits to clicks on the affiliate link in his calculations. If it is a ppc advertisment that links directly to the merchant, the calculation is simpler as it relates only to the conversion rate. Obviously the affiliate must set keyword bidding to a level that does not exceed his maximum cost per click calculation. This approach of ppc plus eg Clickbank can be used to good effect by affiliates, even where the affiliate does not have his own website.

How to combine approaches such as this with all the skills that you require as an affiliate is explained in our ebook Successful Affiliates Guide.

To maximise conversions, it helps to use your own website to assist the selling process by providing genuinely useful and relevant informational content.


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